top of page
  • Armani

Serums – and three reasons why you should use them

Updated: May 16, 2020


We all know the skincare rule book: don’t sleep with your make up on, always, always moisturise (always), and use SPF every…single…day as if your life depends on it. But there is also an additional one. Use a serum. Not one, but two or three. As many as you need too. But seriously, use it. Adding them to my routine has made the single biggest difference to my skin.

Think of it this way. A cleanser, toner or moisturiser all do what they are supposed to do, and go as far as they can. But how do you get that intensive treatment that nourishes the deeper layers of your skin for all the other concerns you have - fine lines, acne, brightness, hydration, oily skin, etc.? Well, serums is your answer.



Here are three reasons why you should be using serums:


· Serums contain the highest concentration of active ingredients. Other products like moisturisers contain between 5-10% of an active ingredient. Serums contain up to 70%

· Serums are more water-based than oil-based which means they absorb much quicker and make your skin less prone to breakouts and without leaving that greasy feeling

· Serums are made up of ingredients which means they can penetrate deeper into the skin instead of remaining on the surface - giving a high concentrated treatment right where it needs it



How you should use them:


· Use a small amount and massage all over your face and neck, after your toner and ampoule, and before your moisturiser. Use after any oil-based products



Which active ingredients are right for you?


· Everyone reacts to ingredients differently, and you should always test or check for ingredients that you may know you react to

· However, generally, vitamin C, retinol and salicylic acid are powerful anti-oxidants, good for reducing inflammation and unclogging pores - so they’re good for acne prone skin

· Vitamin E, glycolic acid and hyaluronic acid are ideal for hydration, elasticity and gentle exfoliation

· Green tea and ferric acid are perfect for brightness and smoothing skin


Here’s some of my fave I am using at the moment. Have you tried any of these? Which ones do you use?



Links to buy them!



About Me:

Hi! My name is Tarjinder Ruthu and one of my life’s greatest pleasures is skincare - buying it, trying it, layering it, obsessing over it, everything. I love it all. In fact I was that kind of teenager who saved all my pennies from my weekend job to buy the latest product from Lancome at the age of 16, whilst my friends were spending their money on fun things like going out and buying sparkly tops. By day, I work in London (my most favourite city in the world) as a Digital Marketing Manager for a finance company where I manage a team globally. It’s a rewarding but stressful job and that, in combination with me living in the city, means I’m always looking out for products that can tackle stress, pollution and city life effectively. I’m learning to combine that with lifestyle, food and exercise because after all, good skin starts from the inside. You can read more and see what I’m currently using on my insta page @care_soaked_skin

54 views0 comments
bottom of page