top of page
  • Writer's pictureOur Soch Team

BBC features an episode on The Unstable Label: ‘Reclaiming my Body after Rape’

Updated: Dec 30, 2019

The_Unstable_label (Saijal Reahal) was the second to feature in the series Body Languages to speak up about PTSD and sexual harassment. Titled ‘Reclaiming My Body After Rape: Living with PTSD’, the episode tells a unique personal story about Reahal’s past experience and how the medium of fashion has helped claim her body and heal her mind, the ultimate birth of @The_Unstable_Label [episode featured below]. Reahal shares more on this below:


Saijal Reahal:


I had seen celebrities speak about sexual harassment and assault which I really admired…but they aren’t people like me. I don’t have millions of fans or social media followers supporting me. I cannot afford continual regular therapy. My friends weren’t hash tagging #MeToo and telling me they had experienced the same thing. I am just a normal person, and it is still unacceptable for normal people to speak about it. Especially whilst they are going through the motions of recent trauma, as opposed to something which happened years ago that they have largely and successfully recovered from

So I did it – I told BBC Three my story for an episode which is part of a series on mental health called ‘Body Language’. Then I did the unthinkable – I posted it on my Facebook for my family and friends to watch. They had no idea of what I had been through.




I wanted to give anyone who sees it a chance to relate, a message of hope. It was not your fault. You can and will heal. The abuse does not define you, but it has made you – strong. You are not alone. You can talk to me. 


I wanted to help diminish the taboo topic of sexual assault in the South Asian community, so that women can go to the police without fearing they will bring shame to the family. That they can tell South Asian men, openly, without the fear that nobody will want to marry them. That they can tell their community and receive support without being gossiped about for their clothing and where they go at night. 


I wanted to inspire people with how I use my clothes to turn those stereotypes on their head and reclaim my body.

I want to be the girl I needed to hear from when I was raped twice.


The_Unstable_Label uses the medium of fashion to heal PTSD and depression. She uses fashion to break stigmas against sexual harrassment and challenge the stereotypes associated with PTSD.

Watch the BBC Three documentary on Saijal Reahal; ‘Reclaiming My Body After Rape: Living with PTSD’:

Follow @The_Unstable_Label on Instagram, and reach out to her for solidarity and support.

44 views0 comments
bottom of page