top of page
  • Writer's pictureOur Soch Team

A 17-year-old Trisha Sharma’s exploration of makeup and her identity as a teenage girl in the diaspo

Updated: Dec 30, 2019

Instagram has in recent ages become a space that promotes and shares creativity and the creative nature of the body. Whilst doing my usual scrolling across the social networking site and getting different ideas and inspiration, I came across a spectacularly creative girl of the mere age of 17, who embraced her creative instincts and her identity to explore the world of artistic makeup that conveys the world around her and lets her true identity shine.

One of the beauties about Instagram is the ability to create a space to simply be creative. Instagram is becoming more and more popularised these days, by different and varied content, ideas and voices. This platform seems to be stemming away from the conventional holiday destinations and romantic couple goal pictures ( not that there is anything wrong with that), and rather strengthening and building on the non-conventional. Instagrammers are becoming bold with their spaces, exploring artistic creation, and using the body and identity to do so, especially those marginalised individuals who use this space to express themselves in a unique and self-loving way, one of them being a beautifully talented 17 year old girl named Trisha.


Trisha Sharma is a stunning girl who started her own makeup page on Instagram called @trishamua_, featuring a range of different looks she creates to convey the world around her and let her true identity shine, for a girl so young I was inspired by her looks and had the fantastic chance to speak to her about what she does.


Tell me a bit about yourself?


I’m Trisha! I’m a 17-year-old, self-taught makeup artist and a full-time student. Along with being a self-proclaimed makeup artist, I’m a dancer and have been learning for 13 years. I’m currently studying to become a cardiothoracic surgeon and not so ironically, my favourite show is Grey’s Anatomy. I have an unhealthy obsession with books and anything Harry Potter related and am also super passionate about politics. 


Who doesn’t love Books! So, I want to ask, what got you into doing the kind of makeup you do? and why did you end up starting an Instagram page for it?


Well I just kind of would experiment with new tricks, techniques, and looks everyday. I’ve always loved bold, avant-garde looks but never had a place to show them off so I decided to create an Instagram page, it’s like my creative outlet.


Do you ever create meaning or stories behind your looks?


Some of my looks do have a meaning or significance to them. For example, the India Independence day look was really significant to me. 

I mostly gain inspiration from the random things I see around the house or in nature, or sometimes a colour just speaks to me and I feel like working with that colour in my look.


Having seen your recent India Independence Day look, how is that significant to you and your identity?


I’m not born and brought up in India but my parents have made sure that I know as much as possible about Indian history, culture, Hinduism, and learning to speak Hindi so that I never lose touch with my Indian self. Being a young Indian woman in the USA with everything that is going on politically keeps me grounded because there are a certain set of morals that Hinduism instilled in me that my parents reinforced. It’s quite empowering to be so forward with that level of pride for the place where you came from.


What do you hope to bring with this creative outlet you have crafted?


Well, to be honest, I don’t know what exactly I see happening with this makeup page. Hopefully, I’ll continue and it’ll gain a bunch of exposure, or it’ll continue to be just a small, creative outlet. I’m not entirely sure but I’m excited by both outcomes. 


Check out Trisha’s step by step guide on her latest Autumn/Fall make up look below:


  • Start off with a clean base and moisturise.

  • Use any primer that works for your skin, I used the pink ELF pore primer. 

  • Go in with the LA Girl’s Orange Colour Corrector for all the dark areas on your face (e.g under the eyes, around the mouth, around the nose, etc. 

  • Using the real techniques beauty blender, dampen, and apply foundation evenly on your face, I used the Fenty Beauty Pro Filt’r Foundations in 420 and 430, applying a little extra on ears and neck. 

  • *OPTIONAL* Cream Contour and Highlight: Contour the cheekbones, nose, and neck (I used Mac lipstick in Fiml Noir). Highlight under the eyes and bridge of the nose, sides of nose contour, cupids bow, and under contour line ( I used a L’oreal Stock Concealer) and Blend! Blend! Blend!

  • Grab the Maybelline Fitme Powder in 360 Mocha and set the contour with a dark brown eyeshadow from NYX.

  • Bake with a translucent loose powder wherever you applied the highlight and leave it there. I don’t have loose powder so I dipped my sponge into the Rimmel Stay Matte translucent powder. 

  • Brow Time! Using the NYX Brow Pencil in black and Benefit Gimme Brow in 6 to fill in brows, using slow strokes and set them with the L’oreal Brow Gel. 

  • For the eyes, I started off with the Juvia’s Place Saharan Palette with the colors Jamila and Katsina all over the lid and in the crease. 

  • Take the Sokoto colour and apply on the outer third of the lid and blend.Take the Bare Minerals Sex Kitten pigment to the inner half of the lid and blend into the matte colours.

  • Take Jamila and the dark brown in the palette and blend onto the lower lash line.

  • From the Urban Decay Alice in Wonderland Palette, take Lily, and from the Saharan palette take Lulu for the inner corner and browbone highlight.

  • Using the Fenty Beauty Flyliner make a thick line across the lashline, no wing.

  • Curl lashes and add a thick layer of mascara

  • Apply Eylure x Jasmine Brown lashes in Curly Queen Wipe off the bake

  • Mix all the blush shades in the ELF blush quad for deeper skin and the NYX Ombre blush in Soft Blush, tap off the excess and apply to cheeks.

  • Add Kiko Milano highlight in mysterious pink to cheekbones, bridge of nose and cupid’s bow.

  • Take the damp beauty blender and dip lightly into Fenty Beauty Killawatt in Trophy wife and tap on top of Kiko highlight.

  • Take Tarte’s lipliner in Squad and line lips, then fill in with Tarte’s Fremeny lip paint, and voila!

All Done!

 

What did you think of this Blog post? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

17 views0 comments
bottom of page