top of page
  • Writer's pictureOur Soch Team

My Look: A Simple Culotte Outfit Restyled as a Desi Fusion Trial

Culottes have always been a personal favourite! They are nice and comfortable pair of trousers to wear, and can be dressed up for a glamorous evening out, or, dressed down casually when chilling at home with your friends, they can even be turned into a classic smasual (smart and casual) look for those events that ambiguously state the dress code as smart casual. They are just a perfect item to wear for any occasion and follow the recent trend of loose fitted trousers that are a blessing for all women like myself.


My all-time favourite pair of culottes I love wearing are my light pink culottes, that many of you have already seen me wearing in my statement Instagram post.


However, I recently decided to take my love for wearing culottes in a trendtangle way and added a desi mix to the fusion. Below I show you how I wore these pink culottes as a Western statement piece, and how I wore them in a trendy South Asian style.


Outfit 1: The Simple Pastel Culotte Style

Me, wearing a White Crop Top by New Look, White Denim Jacket by H&M, Pink Culottes by Independent Store, Sandals by Clarks.

Here I stuck with a pretty pastel colour theme to fit the summery season, pairing the pink culottes with a simple white crop top and a white denim jacket by H&M, enabled for the pink to subtly stand out. I then decided to pair this with bold pink Clarks sandals that accentuated the pink in the culottes and highlighted the summer theme I was aiming for.


Outfit 2: The Desi Fusion Trial 


Me, wearing a Floral Crop Top by New Look, Independent Pink Culottes, My Mother’s White Dupatta, Jewelled Choker by Monsoon, Silver Heels by H&M.

Here I went a little out of the box (and a little last min!) I decided to wear the crop top as a traditional blouse form in the traditional south asian lengha’s, the beauty about this blouse was some of the flowers were the same shade of pink that my culottes were, so it was an easy pairing putting those two together. I paired my mums cream coloured dupatta with small silver gems with the outfit to add that south asian sparkle to my outfit and matched the silver gems to the choker and the heels. It was definitely my first TrendTangle project, the driving force that inspired me to make this blog, but it was definitely an outfit trial I thoroughly enjoyed. I wore this outfit to a law ball that me and my friend so last minute decided to go to, and I received many compliments on the outfit pairing. It was unusual and I liked it!


Although this outfit was a trial, it was something I really enjoyed. I found that I was tapping into the deeply hidden part of myself to find more interesting ways I could create such outfits, and it made me realise how little I embraced my British Indian identity.

 

What did you guys think of this restyled outfit? Have any of you guys restyled an outfit like this before? Let me know in your comments below!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page