top of page
  • Writer's pictureOur Soch Team

Three ways to fashionably style Topshop’s Wide Leg Jeans

Updated: Dec 30, 2019

I managed to get a decently priced pair of Black Wide Legged Jeans in the Topshop Sale and we can say that they are one of the most comfortable and stylish jeans worn to date.


I was given the exciting chance to try them out and experiment with different looks to see how I would style them.


The beauty of these trousers is that you can wear them in a casual, lounge at home or meet friends way, or you can really dress them up to make you look and feel good for an evening out.


Here are three ways I styled them:


1. The Big Dil Energy Outfit

Gurginais wearing a Bright Red Sweater and Golden Hoops by Primark, Black Wide Legged Trousers by Topshop, and White Classic Converses





As you can see I have paired the incredible ‘Item of The Hour’ with a bright red sweater that contrasts nicely with the ashy black colour of the jeans. This adds a pop of colour, and warmth to the upcoming temperamental UK weather season (the sweater is super nice and soft). The sweater matches nicely with the red stripe on the converse shoes, with the shoes emphasising the casual vibe of this outfit. The dash of bright to the overall outfit can really alter an individuals mood, with the dash of bright red lifting your spirits and enabling you to look and feel good, as well as the bonus of feeling comfortable. The use of the bright colour red conveys a positive and bright energy that enables you to feel as if you can tackle the day and its obstacles, and share Big Dil Energy (Positive Vibes) to those around you.



2. The Evening Gratitude Wear 

Gurginais wearing a Khaki camisole from Primark, a Khaki Long Lengthed Cardigan by H&M, Black Wide Leg Trousers by Topshop, Block Heeled Boots by Clarks and Fashionably Dangly Earrings by Urban Outfitters

So with this outfit, I have gone and followed a Khaki theme. I have paired these comfort supremes with a Khaki cami top and a matching Khaki long cardigan. To add to the evening out dress code, I paired this with some fashionable suede black block heeled Boots, with a black choker and long dangly earrings. The Khaki theme is an autumn trend that is currently in, with different style prints in mainstream fashion such as the infamous Camo. With this look, I reinforced this Khaki trend by pairing it with the basic black. Again this outfit conveys a Feel Good and Look Good vibe, with the colours and style of outfit stimulating a put together look. This outfit was actually quite significant to me because it enabled me to feel confident with my appearance, especially,  as a woman that struggles with acne prone skin. As you can see in the picture, I have a few marks and acne on my chest that are visible thanks to the lowcut nature of the cami. Yet, remembering how I felt when I styled this outfit, has highlighted the empowering feeling I felt when this uplifting energy washed over me and I felt confident with my body and my acne prone skin, that I ultimately refuse to edit it out. These marks have not made me any less beautiful than I already am, and if you too struggle with acne breakouts and unclear skin, embrace them! WE want to be positive and confident in our skin, not ashamed of it!


3. The Indo-Western Fashionably Late Look

Gurginais wearing a ‘Sorry I’m Late Desi’ tee by CurryQueenCo, a Bindi from BindiBabe’s Coachella collection, Black Wide Leg Trousers by Topshop, Black Block heeled boots by Clarks and a Shawl from Southall

So this one is most definitely my spin on being Fashionably Late. As you can see I am wearing a casual ‘Sorry I’m Late  Desi’ Tee (making full use of the cultural association to being Desi and being late to occasions), with the Topshop jeans and an eccentric shawl used as a dupatta. The desi accessories of the BindiBabe Bindi and the Shawl add a cultural component to the outfit, highlighting it in an interesting and unique way. This exploration in fashion here aims to promote and celebrate the current trend infusing cultural identities, this being that of an Indian background with the Western life, embracing our identity as women in the diaspora to the fullest and look good whilst doing so. With this I say, be bold with your style choices and try out new things! It’s these cultural fusions that really make you stand out!



 


What did we think about these different takes on Topshop’s Wide Leg Jeans? Leave your comments and feedback in the section below!

2 views0 comments
bottom of page